NaNoWriMo Fallout and Christmas 2013

Hello writers of the web. Dwellers in the wordpress universe and no doubt #amwriting hashtaggers. I come to you after the 30th of November, the final day of NaNoWriMo. It is with sad news that I did not complete my 50,000 words. In fact, I didn’t even do half of that at 25,000. It was closer to 25%.

Let’s cut to the chase, I managed a mere 12,852 (which differs a few hundred to my doc. word count strange as that is) and yet I couldn’t be happier. JasonRVowles

My first year on NaNoWriMo wasn’t a failure. I’ve come to terms with the idea that it’s about discovery and journey and that giving the book you love an ending is a fair deal and what it deserves. We all deserve to give that to our stories.

This November I discovered another world in my head, several perhaps. Fully fleshed characters and a scenario that just kept forming and I know now what that story is.

Whether November is over and I didn’t complete NaNoWriMo does not mean I won’t keep writing the story I started. I technically finished my Apocalypse thriller at 50-60k and have yet to post up the next episodes as I have decided to dissect my book into chapters for you to read every week.

I feel let down not only by my motivation but also because my imagination always seems to surge during a time when I start a new job and simultaneously come down ill with a 3 week tonsillitis infection which is still on-going.

I’ve decided also not to be selfish. And to post, as soon as possible, most if not all of my written work so it can be enjoyed by others instead of gathering coded dust on my hard drive. I would rather it read as that’s what it’s meant for.

I have a number of children’s short stories and a fantasy map + half written and constructed language based on Old Norse and German. I hope that I give people enjoyment from what I write. That’s my reward and maybe that will help me push to get things posted despite my terrible work/life schedule. Hopefully Christmas break with give me extra time and festive spirit, fuelled largely by alcohol and turkey.

If you’ve read this far then thanks and I hope everyone can follow a similar approach in writing.

One thought on “NaNoWriMo Fallout and Christmas 2013

Leave a Reply

